What is having anxiety like?

We wanted to share a snippet from the article at ScaryMommy. Please be aware that NCBI states that, “Findings indicated that there are sizably greater risks among adult (foster care) alumni for PTSD, anxiety disorders, depression, and drug dependence (two- to sevenfold increases in risk).”

________________________

girl_crying_by_l0veisfr3
as seen at http://img12.deviantart.net/f221/i/2006/177/8/e/girl_crying_by_l0veisfr3.jpg

He picked at his dinner and went to go lie in bed. He’s the kind of kid who never goes to lie down in bed. My heart began to beat out of my chest. Everything that had been piling up all day reached a crescendo, and the most irrational thoughts flooded my brain.

I was certain that my son was getting sick. And not just a little sick. And not just the kind of sickness that would pass. No, something that would likely kill him. Some rare virus. Or perhaps a brain tumor? I mean, obviously something was very wrong with him.

See that? It makes no sense to go there, but when anxiety strikes, my mind goes to the worst-case scenario situation immediately.

And the thing is, I could see it happening. I could see how irrational my thoughts were, but I couldn’t stop them. I couldn’t stop my heart from racing, my legs from turning to jelly, and the ridiculous thoughts from flying through my head.

Then I began to worry about the worry. I wondered if my son could pick up on how nervous I was. The last thing I want in the world is for my kids to be infected by my anxiety. I know anxiety so well, and it pains my heart to imagine either of my children having to experience it.

So I sat there, hanging out with my son, offering him sips of water, trying to soothe him, trying not to smother him—all while the stress hormones flooded my body, and I felt helpless. All I wanted was to be the calming force in the world for my son who wasn’t feeling too hot himself, and I simply could not do it.”

One thought on “What is having anxiety like?

Leave a Reply

