The Immigrant

We loved this! This is a great example of “what goes around comes around” in the best light. Thank you, Morning Story and Dilbert for sharing this and for liking our ‘Love Them Anyway’ post.
CASA serves all children; those born here, raised here, and immigrated here. No matter what language they speak or what backgrounds they have, any and all court involved abused/neglected children in Boone County receive the services of a CASA advocate.

Morning Story and Dilbert

Morning Story and Dilbert Vintage Dilbert
March 21, 2013

In 1972, I emigrated to America from Italy with my two small children. I had no job and spoke no English. It wasn’t easy finding my way at first, but over the years, I created my own successful housekeeping service. Recently, I was at a new client’s home when the doorbell rang.

“I’m friends with the man who lives here,” the man at the door said. “I’m here to fix his computer.”

“Yes, of course, I was told you might be coming,” I said.

“Are you Italian?” the repairman asked. He must have recognized my accent, one thing that hasn’t changed much over the years.

“Yes,” I answered. We started talking.

“My grandfather was an Italian immigrant,” he said. “If it weren’t for strangers helping him when he arrived here, he wouldn’t have made it. So he did the same for others. He used to…

View original post 281 more words

Leave a Reply

