A Family for Freddie

Yesterday MorningStoryandDilbert liked our post on the disadvantages of impoverished families. We took the opportunity to check them out. Please read their post ‘A Family for Freddie.’
We were so moved! Keep doing the great work, Abbie!

Morning Story and Dilbert

Morning Story and Dilbert Vintage Dilbert
August 5, 2005

I remember the first time I saw Freddie. He was standing in his playpen at the adoption agency where I work. He gave me a toothy grin. What a beautiful baby, I thought. His boarding mother gathered him into her arms. “Will you be able to find a family for Freddie?”

Then I saw it. Freddie had two stubs for arms. “He’s so smart. He’s only 10 months old, and already he walks and talks.” She kissed him. “Say ‘book’ for Mrs. Blair.” Freddie grinned at me and hid his head on his boarding mother’s shoulder. “Now, Freddie, don’t act that way,” she said. “He’s really very friendly,” she added. “Such a good, good boy.”

Freddie reminded me of my own son when he was that age, the same thick dark curls, the same brown eyes. “You won’t forget him, Mrs. Blair? You will try?”…

View original post 771 more words

Leave a Reply

